Small great things by Jodi Picoult

Small great things

BRC book group are meeting on Wednesday 1st November in JP2 to discuss Small great things by Jodi Picoult.  I picked this up standing in my kitchen last night to read the back of the book, then I thought I’d read the first few pages…10 minutes later I was still standing in the middle of my kitchen reading!  I love the way that Jodi Picoult draws you in immediately and grips you with the characters and plot. I’m really looking forward to hearing what you all think of this.  Remember to book your space by emailing staffdevelopment@chi.ac.uk and if you can’t come to the meeting then please comment here.  Thanks!

One thought on “Small great things by Jodi Picoult”

  1. I found this book to be uncomfortable reading, powerful and thought provoking. I enjoyed the way JP wrote each chapter from different character perspectives. There were so many shocking and upsetting events, but the way Ruth and her son were treated at the time of her arrest will stay with me for a long time. Turk’s character amazed me with his capacity to love his wife so deeply, but to hate others just as much. I found Britt’s character even more chilling and disturbing. Though this was a result of her upbringing, I felt no sympathy for her at all. I enjoyed the courtroom scenes and could really picture them thanks to JP’s clear descriptions. I was gripped by this book and couldn’t put it down – Aileen Arthur

Leave a Reply

