The Ice -Twins by S K Tremayne – our next book for discussion on Wednesday 16th December 15

Our next book group meeting is at BRC & BOC on Wednesday 16th December 2015 at 12-1pm.

We will be discussing: The Ice-Twins, by S.K Tremayne

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Ice-Twins-S-Tremayne/dp/0007563035

ICE TWINS

One of Sarah’s daughters died. But can she be sure which one? *THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING NOVEL*

A terrifying psychological thriller perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN.

A year after one of their identical twin daughters, Lydia, dies in an accident, Angus and Sarah Moorcraft move to the tiny Scottish island Angus inherited from his grandmother, hoping to put together the pieces of their shattered lives.

But when their surviving daughter, Kirstie, claims they have mistaken her identity – that she, in fact, is Lydia – their world comes crashing down once again.

As winter encroaches, Angus is forced to travel away from the island for work, Sarah is feeling isolated, and Kirstie (or is it Lydia?) is growing more disturbed. When a violent storm leaves Sarah and her daughter stranded, Sarah finds herself tortured by the past – what really happened on that fateful day one of her daughters died?

Advertisements

Author: Angela Roberts

Writer. Reader. Theatre buff. Hemingway boff. Footy fan. IT-whizz. PETA's Action Team member. Mum. Wife. Loves words, characters and stories.

6 thoughts on “The Ice -Twins by S K Tremayne – our next book for discussion on Wednesday 16th December 15”

  1. I’d read this earlier on in the year, and remembered it as a really spooky, psychological thriller type book. You know the kind that make the shivers go up and down your spine, but at the same time you just can’t put down? When I saw it was on the reading list for this month I re-read the book, something I almost never do. It was as chillingly surreal the second time around too and I still can’t quite get clear in my head whether Kirstie was pretending or possessed.

  2. Brilliantly set in a broken house on a freezing rock with suitably dicey connections to the mainland! Not sure about the ending though – perhaps it was a bit too neatly wrapped up and it became obvious why odd details had been inserted earlier in the book, for instance the friends’ handy plot of land.

  3. I also found this book a real page-turner. I am, however, finding the current trend of ‘psychological thrillers’ a little irritating in that you read the whole book without knowing key pieces of information until the end (although I do realise that’s the point!).
    I thought the descriptions of the remote Scottish island and house were very evocative, and I liked the way the extremely bleak environment and weather mirrored the characters’ emotions. As someone who doesn’t like to be further than walking distance from a coffee shop, I found the environment very unnerving.
    I did find many of the premises very far-fetched. Could parents really not know which of their children has died, even if they are identical twins? And can trauma really provoke such memory loss that Sarah ‘forgets’ that she was with another man at the time of her daughter’s death? I did, however, love the twist that Kirstie told her dad that she had pushed Lydia off the balcony.
    I like a neat ending – I would have been very annoyed if the ending had been ambiguous although it still wasn’t clear if Sarah’s death was accidental or deliberate.
    Overall I can’t criticise too heavily a book that I can’t wait to get back to, and I did enjoy the exploration of grief, loss and guilt. Just wish it had been a little more believable.

  4. Here is a comment from Alison ( I have sent her the BLOG link so she can read all the other comments also) Thanks Alison :

    I have to say that although I didn’t especially enjoy reading this book, it was a real page-turner and I read it in one sitting. I thought the suspense and the twists and turns of the plot were excellent and I was constantly being surprised.

    What I didn’t like about it was that I never felt really engaged with the characters, and they didn’t move me as I would have expected given the situation. So I ended up not really caring very much which child was still alive, never mind the adults!

    I also thought the Isle of Skye setting didn’t really come across as I might have hoped. It’s evidently a very dramatic and beautiful landscape – witness the photographs – and should have emerged much more strongly as a menacing influence, I felt. In the event, it seemed more that it was just a bit of a nuisance for the characters, being on an island surrounded by tidal mudflats…………

    I don’t mind if you don’t use my comments and I hope the session goes really well. Let me know what the next book is!

  5. 6.5 to 7/10 for this book from the BRC and BOC groups. A great page turner, but slightly unrealistic. Thanks for all your great comments!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s